Indian Constitution

President of India

      President-Indian Constitution
No. President
1. The President is the constitutional head and the first citizen of India.
2. Chapter 1 of the Part IV of the Constitution contains the provisions regarding the President.
3. Qualifications: 1. He shall be a citizen of India  2. He shall have 35 years age. 3.He shall be eligible to become a member of House of People. 4. He shall not hold office of profit under the Union or State Government.
4. Presidet is elected by the electoral college.  It consists elected members of Parliament and State Legislative Assemblies.
5. The term of office of the President is 5 years.
6. The President appoints - the Prime Minister and other ministers; Comptroller and Auditor General of India; Judges of High courts and Supreme Courts; Governors of States; Chief Election Commissioner and other Election Commissioners; Finance Commission; Attorney General of India; Chairman and members of the Union Public Service Commission.
7. The President has the power to summon, prorogue the meetings of the Parliament and dissolve the Lok Sabha.
8. The President nominates 12 members to Rajya Sabha and 2 Anglo-Indian members to Lok Sabha.
9. He has the Power to grant pardons.
10. He has the power to declare emergency under Articles 352,356 and 360.
11. He is the supreme Commander of Armed forces.
12. The President of India has the right to seek information from the Prime Minister under Article 78 of the Constitution.
13. The President of India can be impeached under Article 61 of the Constitution.
14. If a question of disqualification under Article 102 arises the decision of President is final.
15. President shall obtain the opinion of the Election Commission and shall act accordingly in case of any question arises regarding the disqualification of members under Article 102 of the Constitution.