Indian Constitution

Parliament-Article 79

      Parliament-Indian Constituion
No. Parliament
1. As per Article 79 the Parliament shall consist two houses:
2. 1.Council of States (Rajya Sabha)
2.House of People (Lok Sahha)
3. Joint Sitting of Parliament is presided by the Loksabha Speaker.
4. As per Article 101 a person can not be a member of both houses of parliament.
5. A person can not be a member of both Parliament and State Legislature.
6. A person is disqualified to become a member of Parliament if he is: not a citizen of India, unsound mind, undischarged insolvent, holds office of profit.
7. President shall obtain the opinion of the Election Commission and shall act accordingly in case of any question arises regarding the disqualification of members under Article 102 of the Constitution.
8. If a question of disqualification under Article 102 arises the decision of President is final.
9. If a member of the Parliament is absent for a period of 60 days without permission his seat may be declared as vacant.
10. The Parliament of India consists President, Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha.
11. In Parliamentary System executive is responsible to Legislature.
12. The Parliament shall meet atleast once in a period of 6 months.
13. The quorum of Rajya Sabha is 25 members.
14. Union Ministers are resposible to the Parliament.
15. The minimum age to become a member of Lok Saba is 25 years.
16. As per Article 100 all questions of either House shall be determined by a majority of votes of the members present and voting. The Speaker or the person acting as Speaker shall not have the right to vote but in case of equality of votes he can exercise casting vote.
17. The quorum to either House of the Parliament is one-tenth of the total number of members of the House. If there is no quorum the speaker or chairman shall adjourn the House until a quorum.
18. As per Article 99 every member of Parliament shall make Oath before President or some other person appointed by the President.
19. The speaker of the Lok Sabha may resign by sending his resignation to Deputy Speaker.
20. The Deputy Speaker of Lok Sabha may resign by sending his resignation to Speaker.
21. As per Article 89 The Vice-President of India is ex officio Chairman of the Rajya Sabha.
22. Every Minister and Attorney General of India has the right to speak in either house of the Parliament.
23. As per Article 87 The president of India at the commencement of the first session after each general election and at the commencement of the first session in the year shall address Parliament assembled together.
24. President has the right to address either House of the Parliament or both Houses of the Parliament assembled together. He also has the right to send messages to either House of the Parliament.
25. President of India may prorogue either house of the Parliament. He may also dissolve the House of People.
26. The president of India summons the Parliament. Period of six months shall not be elapsed between two sittings.
27. Qualifications for the membership of Parliament:
28. 1. He is a citizen of India.
2. He has 30 years of age for Rajya Sabha. 25 years for Loksabha.
3. Other qualifications prescribed by the Parliament.
29. The period of duration of the House of the People (Lok Sabha) is 5 years from the date of its first meeting. However it may be extended to one year at a time during the proclamation of Emergency.
30. As per Article 83 of the Constitution Rajya Sabha shall not be dissolved. One-third of the members of the Rajya Sabha shall retire on the expiration of every 2 years.
31. As per Article 81 House of People (Lok Sabha) shall consists 530 members from states and 20 members from union territories.
32. As per Article 80 Council of States (Rajya Sabha) shall consists 12 members appointed by the President. 238 members representing states and union territories.