Indian History

Sri Krishna Devaraya Conquests

Sri Krishna Devaraya who belonged to Tuluva dynasty was the most famous among all Vijayanagara kings. He ascended the throne in 1509 A.D and ruled upto 1529 A.D. Saluva Thimmarusu was the Prime Minister of Sri Krishna Devaraya. There were number of problems when he ascended the throne. Sri Krishna Devaraya faced all the problems successfully with the help of his loyal minister Saluva Timmarusu. Sri Krishna Devaraya concluded a treaty with the portuguese in 1510 and allowed them to build forts in Bhatka and to trade in Goa. In return Portuguese agreed to supply best quality of war horses to the king. Immediately after he came to throne, he suppressed the chiefs of the Ummatur and Shivasamudram.

Sri Krishna Devaraya defeated Bijapur Sultan Yusuf Adil Shah and annexed Raichur. He occupied the forts of Kondavidu, Udayagir, Kondapalli, Bezawada, Rajamundry, Khammam, Warangal and erected a victory pillar at Simhachalam and Potnur in memory of his victory His army marched into Kalinga kingdom and attacked its capital cuttack. Its ruler Prataparudra Gajapati concluded a peace treaty with Sri Krishna Devaraya and gave his daughter in marriage to Sri Krishna Devaraya. When Ismail Adil Shah the Bijapur Sultan recaptured Raichur, Sri Krishna Devaraya attacked Raichur for second time. A fierce battle took place at Raichur on 19th May 1520 A.D. In the battle Ismail Adil Shah was defeated and Raichur was reoccupied by Sri Krishna Devaraya.

He invaded Bider and Freed Sultan Muhammad Shah and installed him on the throne of Bider. Hence he had the title of "Yavana Rajya Sthapanacharya". He extended the empire upto Kanyakumari including certain parts of Srilanka. Hence had the title of "Dakshina Samudreswara". In 1523 he waged war on Bijapur and annexed Bijapur and Gulbarga. The last days of Sri Krishnadevaraya were not happy. He abdicated the throne in favour of his young son. But he was died after few months. Sri Krishna Devaraya suspected that his son was poisoned by son of Timmarusu. Hence Timmarusu and his son were captured and blinded. But after knowing the fact he repented for his action. He nominated his brother Achutaraya as his successor. Sri Krishna Devaraya fell ill and died in 1529 A.D.

Vijayanagara Empire Dynasties Administration Sri Krishna Devaraya-Conquests
Sri Krishna Devaraya-Art-Literature Sangama Dynasty Devaaya II Saluva Dynasty
Tuluva Dynasty Talikota Battle Aravidu Dynasty Vijayanagara-Capital
Multiple Choice Questions Quiz/Online Tests      

Indian History

Indus Valley Civilization Early Vedic Civilization Later Vedic Civilization Buddhism Jainism 16 Mahajanapadas Rise of Magadha Haryanka-Dynasty Sisunaga Dynasty Nandas Alexander Invasions on India Mauryan Empire Sungas Kanvas Indo-Greeks Guptas Harshavardhana Satavahanas Sangam Age Kushans-Kanishka Badami Chalukyas Kalyani Chalukyas Pallavas Cholas Rashtrakutas Muslim Invasions Rajputs Delhi Sultans Qutb-Ud-din-Aibak Iltutmish Balban Alauddin Khilji Muhammad Bin Tughluq Mughal Empire Babar Humayun Akbar Akbar Administration Jahangir Nurjahan Shah Jahan Taj Mahal Aurangzeb Sher Shah Bahmani Sultans Vijayanagara Empire Marathas Sikhs-Guru Nanak Sikhs-Ranjit Singh Hoysalas Jats Kakatiyas Kalachuris Later Pandyas Yadavas Portuguese British French Dutch Danes Anglo French Revalry First Carnatic War Second Carnatic War Third Carnatic War Battle of Plassey 1957 Battle of Buxar Expansion of British Empire First Anglo-Mysore War Second Anglo-Mysore War Third Anglo-Mysore War Fourth Anglo-Mysore War Tippu Sultan Mysore Kingdom First Anglo-Maratha War Second Anglo-Maratha War Third Anglo-Maratha War Lord Warren Hastings Lord Cornwallis Lord Wellesley Lord William Bentinck Lord Dalhousie Subsidiary Alliance-Nizam Nizam Ul Mulk Later Mughals-Bahadur Shah Oudh Kingdom Travencore Kingdom Socio-Religious Movements 1857 Revolt 1857 Revolt-Results Sambalpur Revolt Sanyasi Revolt Rippon Lord Curzon Vandemataram Movemement Reunification of Bengal Home Rule Movement Rowlatt Satyagraha Khilafat Movement Non Cooperation Movement Chauri-Chaura Incident Civil Disobedience Movement Quit India Movement Rise of Nationalism Societies-Organizations Indian National Congress Moderates Surath Congress 1907 Lucknow Pact Muslim League Pakistan Extrimists Bal Gangadhar Tilak Lala Lajapathi Roy Bipin Chandra Pal Netaji Subhas Chandrabose Mahatma Gandhi Champaran Satyagraha Ahmadabad Mill Strike Kheda Satyagraha Communal Award Gandhi Irwin Pact Swaraj Party Gadhar Party Revol. Nationalism-Maharashtra Revolutionary Nationalism-Bengal Hindusthan Socialist Republic Ass Lahore Conspiracy Case Kakori Conspiracy Case Jallian Wallah Bagh Massacre Nehru Report 1928 Minto Morley Reforms Montague Chelmsford Reforms Govt. of Indian Act 1935 Montague Declaration Constituent Assembly Elections Atlee Declaration Cabinet Mission Crips Mission Round Table Conferences Simon Commission Wavell Plan Lord Mountbatten Boundary Commission Partition of India