Indian History

Third Carnatic War: 1756-63

Sl.No.                            Third Carnatic War 
1. The seven years war started in Europe in 1756. Consequently, dispute between French and English was started.
2. The French Government sent Count Lally as the Governor.
3. Count-de-Lally besieged Madras and ordered Bussy to assist him in Madras.
4. Recaling Bussy from Deccan was a mistake on the part of Lally.
5. Bussy advised Lally that his departure would help the British. But Lally did not listen his advice. Having no option Bussy left Hyderabad.
6. Then Robert clive sent colonel Ford to occupy northern circars.
7. Ford occupied Northern circars and brought salabat Jung under his control.
8. Salabat Jung joined with English and gave them Northern Circars.
9. Lally failed to get Madras.
10. Lally was defeated by Sir Eyre Coote in the decisive battle of Wandiwash in January 1760.
11. The Battle of Wandiwash sealed the fate of the French and Bussy was taken as prisoner.
12. Lally surrendered at Pondicherry in January 1761.
13. Pandicherry was occupied by the British.
14. The seven years war in Europe ended in 1763 with the treaty of Paris.
15. The peace of Paris(1763) restored the French settlements to them and not allowed to fortify them.
16. As per this treaty Pondicherry was given back to the Freanch. Though, French was ceased to be a Political power in India.
17. British emerged as supreme power in India.
18. The three Carnatic wars completely destroyed the chances of establishing the French empire in India.

Indian History

Indus Valley Civilization Early Vedic Civilization Later Vedic Civilization Buddhism Jainism 16 Mahajanapadas Rise of Magadha Haryanka-Dynasty Sisunaga Dynasty Nandas Alexander Invasions on India Mauryan Empire Sungas Kanvas Indo-Greeks Guptas Harshavardhana Satavahanas Sangam Age Kushans-Kanishka Badami Chalukyas Kalyani Chalukyas Pallavas Cholas Rashtrakutas Muslim Invasions Rajputs Delhi Sultans Qutb-Ud-din-Aibak Iltutmish Balban Alauddin Khilji Muhammad Bin Tughluq Mughal Empire Babar Humayun Akbar Akbar Administration Jahangir Nurjahan Shah Jahan Taj Mahal Aurangzeb Sher Shah Bahmani Sultans Vijayanagara Empire Marathas Sikhs-Guru Nanak Sikhs-Ranjit Singh Hoysalas Jats Kakatiyas Kalachuris Later Pandyas Yadavas Portuguese British French Dutch Danes Anglo French Revalry First Carnatic War Second Carnatic War Third Carnatic War Battle of Plassey 1957 Battle of Buxar Expansion of British Empire First Anglo-Mysore War Second Anglo-Mysore War Third Anglo-Mysore War Fourth Anglo-Mysore War Tippu Sultan Mysore Kingdom First Anglo-Maratha War Second Anglo-Maratha War Third Anglo-Maratha War Lord Warren Hastings Lord Cornwallis Lord Wellesley Lord William Bentinck Lord Dalhousie Subsidiary Alliance-Nizam Nizam Ul Mulk Later Mughals-Bahadur Shah Oudh Kingdom Travencore Kingdom Socio-Religious Movements 1857 Revolt 1857 Revolt-Results Sambalpur Revolt Sanyasi Revolt Rippon Lord Curzon Vandemataram Movemement Reunification of Bengal Home Rule Movement Rowlatt Satyagraha Khilafat Movement Non Cooperation Movement Chauri-Chaura Incident Civil Disobedience Movement Quit India Movement Rise of Nationalism Societies-Organizations Indian National Congress Moderates Surath Congress 1907 Lucknow Pact Muslim League Pakistan Extrimists Bal Gangadhar Tilak Lala Lajapathi Roy Bipin Chandra Pal Netaji Subhas Chandrabose Mahatma Gandhi Champaran Satyagraha Ahmadabad Mill Strike Kheda Satyagraha Communal Award Gandhi Irwin Pact Swaraj Party Gadhar Party Revol. Nationalism-Maharashtra Revolutionary Nationalism-Bengal Hindusthan Socialist Republic Ass Lahore Conspiracy Case Kakori Conspiracy Case Jallian Wallah Bagh Massacre Nehru Report 1928 Minto Morley Reforms Montague Chelmsford Reforms Govt. of Indian Act 1935 Montague Declaration Constituent Assembly Elections Atlee Declaration Cabinet Mission Crips Mission Round Table Conferences Simon Commission Wavell Plan Lord Mountbatten Boundary Commission Partition of India