Indian History
Mcqs on Mughal Empire French Revolution Digestive System Mauryan Empire Indian Geography Delhi Sultans Vitamins Early Vedic Civilization Jainism Quit India Resolution Nauroj Introduction Muhammad Bin Tughluq Five Year Plans Indus Valley Civilization Nervous System Circulatory System Gupta Empire Advent of Europeans Indian Constitution Vijayanagara Empire Chola Kingdom Buddhism Maratha Kingdom Mcqs on Gupta Empire Dyarchy Introduction Sense Organs-Eye Plants reproduction Mcqs on Delhi Sultans Delhi Sultan-Titles Samudragupta Ap Economy Excretory System Satavahana Empire Balban Amitraghata title Guptas Slave Dynasty-Quiz Test Micro Organisms India Physical Mcqs on Indus Valley Civilization Rice husk discovery Mughal Empire-Babar-Akbar Delhi Sultans-Quiz Test Taxation 1857 Revolt Sense Organs Ear Sikhs Cholas Peninsular Plateau Diseases Indian Constitution preparation Capital of Kanishka President Quiz Test President Mcqs Directive Principles Fundamental Duties adoption Jainism-Quiz Test President Resignation Governor Generals Harshavardhana Akbar Indian Constitution Quiz Test Mauryan Empire-Quiz Test Capital of Cholas Mcqs on Freedom Movement Mahavira Enlightenment Parliament Quiz Test Vikramanka Charita National Income Aryan Settlement Governor Generals Quiz test Advent of Europeans Quiz Test Camel Bones Discovery Mughal Empire Quiz Test Animal not known Constituent Assembly Jarkhand State Amendment Occupation of Aryans Muslim Invasions Player of Veena President Defence forces Jainism Mcqs Kesavananda Bharati Case Harsha Charita India States Quiz Test Plants reproduction Delhi Sultans Mcqs Fundamental Rights Cancel division of Bengal Kushans Voting Age Reduction Amendments Quiz TEst Preamble Quiz Test Complete indepenence declared Music Dance-Abolish Mauryas Mcqs Delhi Sultans Khalifa Indian Geography Mcqs Vandemataram Movement Judiciary Quiz Test

Second Anglo-Maratha War

Second Anglo-Maratha War 1803-05: Wellesleys desire to impose Subsidiary Alliance on Marthas and his aggressive policy of interfering into the internal affairs od the Marathas was the main cause for the war. The Maratha leaders, Mahadaji Sindhia and Nanafadnavis, who played prominent role in the first Anglo-Maratha war died in 1793 and 1800 respectively. There was a struggle in the Maratha polities between Daulat Rao Sindia, successor of Mahadaji Sindia and Yashwant Rao Holker for power. Molkar reached near the sight of Poona. Then Baji Rao II fled to Bassein and concluded subsidiary alliance with the British on Dec.31, 1802. This was not acceptable to other Maratha leaders. So, they wanted to fight with the British. Consequently second Anglo-Maratha war was broke out in 1803. Sindia, Holkar and Bhonsle fought in the second Anglo-Maratha war. Wellesle defeated the armies of Sindia and Bhonsle at Assaye in september 1803 and at Argaon in November, 1803. Then the treaty of Deogaon was concluded on December 17, 1803 between Raghuji Bhonsle and the company. As per this treaty Bhonsle agreed to cede the english the province of cuttack, Balasore and territory west of the river Warda and accepted the subsidiary alliance with British. Later Sindia army was defeated at Aligarh and finally at the British. Sindia concluded the treaty of Surji Arjunagaon with British on December 30, 1803. As per this treaty Sindia agreed to cede the territory between the Ganga and yamuna, Anmadnagar, Broach and parts of Bundelkhand. As per the treaty of Burhanpur (Feb.27, 1804), Sindia agreed to enter into subsidiary alliance with British. Holkar continued the war with British. The East India Company realised that the policy of expansion through war was costly and reduced profits. The company's debt was increased. Therefore wellesely was recalled from India. The company entered into peace treaty with Holkar on 24 december, 1805. This treaty is called Rajpurghat Treaty. As per this treaty Yashvanth Rao Holkar agreed to renounce all claims to the area north of the Bundi hill. British also promised not to disturb Holkar's possessions in Mewar and Malwa. The treaty of Rajpurghat marked the end of the second Anglo-Maratha.
1857 Revolt Quiz Test Advent of Europeans Mcqs Rajputs Mcqs Round Table conferences Loksabha term reduced Vijayanagara Kingdom Mcqs Anglo Indians Assembly Humayun Indian States Mcqs Bharath Matha Society Rajputs Crips Mission State Executive Head Mansabdars Rise of Magadha HTML 5 Indus Valley Civilization Mcqs Constitutional Developments Buddhism Bahmani Sultans Ripon Ajanta Cave Paintings Interior of Earth Societies Associations Pallavas Mcqs Khilji Dynasty Founder of Swaraj Party Employment Bureau Harshavardhana Sangam Age Swaraj Party Mcqs on Kushans Case Laws Crpc complaint definition Measurement of land Mcqs on Rashtrakutas Humayun Quiz Test National Flag Ratio Guptas Trade Mcqs on Kakatiyas Crpc Judgement Later Vedic Civilization Mcqs Horse Name of Gautama Buddha Pulakesi II defeated by Gupta Period Coins National Flag Ashoka Wheel Chief Minister Rivers Mcqs on National Movement Birds worshipped Nataraja Male dancing figure Buddhist Monk Ashoka Arrest without Warrant Mcqs on Mauryan Empire Battle of Ghagra Chief Minister appointment Later Vedic Civilization Quiz Gupta Empire Mcqs Vedas Composed by Rajyasabha members election State Public Service Commission Satavahanas Quiz Test Balgangadhara Tilak Mcqs on Rivers Freedom struggle Mcqs Procedure Established by law State Finance Commission Peninsular plateau Emergency Provisions Coastal Plains Quiz Test Animals around Pasupati Establishment of British rle Sarkaria Commission Delhi Sultans Mcqs India Physical Quiz Ikta System Ablished Indian republic head Doors to main Streets Harsha Mcqs Economic History Crpc Death Confirmation Imperial Durbar Marcopolo Kakatiyas Mcqs War prisioners conversion Five year Plans Quiz Test Nabard Globalisation Mcqs Union Ministers Indus People Occupation National Parks President Quiz Test Indus Site destroyed by fire Home Rule Movement Lakbaksh Title Sutta Pitaka compiled Finance Commission Respiratory System Balban Pink Revolution Early Vedic Civilization Delhi Sultans shifted capital Pallavas Mcqs Civil Disobedience Movement Executive Power of Union Advisory Committee Harshavardhana mcqs Copper Indus People Vijayanagara Kingdom Buddha Enlightenment Satavahans Rajputs Later Vedic Civlization Mcqs Mcqs on Governor Generals Dinar introduced by Mcqs on Badami Chalukyas Rivers Fox India Bill Governor Generals Sense Organs Skin Title relinquished by Gandhi Gautamaiputra Satakarni Sahu Mughal Custody Western Ghats Diwan-i-Kohi Portuguese Empire Badami Chalukyas Green Revolution Governor Generals Jagannata Temple