Indian History

Indian History

Indus Valley Civilization Early Vedic Civilization Later Vedic Civilization Mahajanapadas Buddhism Jainism Mauryan Empire Post Mauryan Age-Kushans Gupta Empire Harshavardhana Sangam Age Satavahanas Vakatakas Kadambas Badami Chalukyas Rashtrakutas Chola Empire Kalyani Chalukyas Pallava Kingdom Rajputs Muslim Invasions Bahmani Empire Bhakti Movement Delhi Sultans Mughal Empire Sur Dynasty-Shershah Gajapati Kingdom Eastern Ganga Dynasty Hoysalas Ahom Kingdom Kakatiyas Kalachuris Later Pandyas Maratha Kingdom Sikhs Vijayanagara Empire Yadavas Advent of Europeans British Rule Constitutional Developments Education-Press Establishment of British le Governor Generals Moderates Popular Movements 1857 Revolt Revolutionary Terrorism Rise of Nationalism Lord Canning


Indus Valley Civilization Early Vedic Civilization Later Vedic Civilization Buddhism Jainism Persian-Greek Invasions Mauryan Empire Kushans Gupta Empire Harshavardhana Indian Culture Sangam Age Satavahanas Chola Empire Badami Chalukyas Pallavas Rashtrakutas Kalyani Chalukyas Rajputs Muslim Invasions Bahmani Empire Delhi Sultans Mughal Empire Hoysala Kingdom Independent Kingdoms Kakatiyas Kalachuri Kingdom Later Pandyas Marathas Vijayanagara Empire Yadavas Sur Dynasty-Shershah Sikhs Advent of Europeans Revolts Governor Generals British Rule Natonal Leaders Popular Movements Revolutionary Terrorism Rise of Natonalism Viceroys Education-Press Constitutional Developments

Mahatma Gandhi-Imp Facts

      Mahatma Gandhi
No. Mahatma Gandhi
1.Mahatma Gandhi was born on October 2, 1869 in Porbandar in Gujarat.
2. He studied law and became a barrister. He went to South Africa in 1893 for practice.
3. Mahatma Gandhi shocked after seeing the Indians settled in South Africa, who were racially discriminated and suppressed.
4. South Africa was a British Colony. He used Satyagraha to fight against the British in South Africa.
5. Mahatma Gandhi returned to India in 1915.
6. After returning from South Africa Gandhi founded an Ashram on the banks of river Sabarmati in 1915.
7. He became a great leader after the three local movements such as Champaran Satyagraha, Ahmadabad Mills Strike and Kheda Satyagraha.
8. The Rowlatt Satyagraha made Gandhi as a National leader.
9. Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi was born on 2nd October, 1869.
10. His mother was Putlibai Gandhi and father was Karamchand Gandhi.
11. Education: Alfred High School, Rajkot and University College London.
12. Mahatma Gandhi returned to India from South Africa in 1915.
13. In 1916 Gandhiji founded the Sabarmati Asram at Ahmedabad.
14. Gandhiji started his first Satyagraha for indigo planters of Champaran in Bihar against Tinkathia system.
15. Gandhiji started a satyagraha movement on 6th April, 1919 against rowlatt Act. 6th April 1919 was observed as Satyagraha day.
16. Mahatma Gandhi launched the Non-Cooperation movement in 1920.
17. The Chauri-Chaura incident took place on 5th Feb. 1922. In this incident 22 policemen were killed. Gandhiji stopped the Non-Cooperation Movement.
18. All India Khilafat conferencewas held on Nov. 24, 1919 at Delhi.
19. Mahatma Gandhi was its prsident.
20. Mahatma gandhi started a movement against salt laws on 12th March 1930. 78 members marched from Sabarmati Asram to Dandi to prepare salt by violating salt laws.
21. The famous Dandi March took 25 days. On 6th April 1930 Gandhiji prepared salt by violating salt laws.
22. All India Harijan sangh was established by Mahatma Gandhi.
23. Mahatma Gandhi gave `Do or Die` slogan during the Quit Indian Movement.
24. Mahatma Gandhi started Champaran Satyagraha.
25.Mahtma Gandhi strongly protested against communal award 1932. He thought that it was made to separate depressed classes from Hindus. So Gandhiji went on fast unto death in Yerravada Jail in September 1932.
26. The leaders of depressed classes came to understanding with Hindus at Poona and a partially joint electorates were accepted for depressed classes. Gandhiji broke on his fast.
27. Ahmadabad Textile Labour Association was founded by Mahatma Gandhi.
28. The British Prime Minister Winston Churchill described Gandhiji as 'Half naked seditious fakir'
29. Gandhiji published a periodical called Indian Opinion in South Africa.
30. Sir Staford Crips said "there is no leader in the world greater than Gandhi".
31. He was assassinated at Birla House, New Delhi on 30th January 1948 by the Nathuram Godse.
Mahatma Gandhi Champaran Satyagraha Ahmadabad Mills Strike
Kheda Satyagraha Rowlatt Satyagraha Khikafat Movement
Non-Cooperation Movement Chauri-Chaura Incident Civil Disobedience Movement
Gandhi Irwin Pact Communal Award Quit India Movement