Indian History


      Delhi Sultans-Iltutmish
No. Iltutmish
1. Iltutmish ascended the throne in 1211 A.D. by killing Aram Shah.
2. Iltutmish was the real founder of the Delhi Sultanate.
3. He was the slave of Aibak. He was well trained in war and administration.
4. Aibak made Iltutmish as his son-in-law.
5. When Iltutmish ascended the throne, the governors assumed independence.
6. The rulers of Ghazni, Sind and Bengal did not acknowledge the new rule.
7. Hence Iltutmish invaded against Yaldoz of Ghazni and defeated at Thaneswar.
8. He also defeated Khilji chief of Bengal in 1226.
9.Qubacha of Sind was also subdued.
10. Iltutmish faced the serious threat of the Mongol invasion under the leadership of Chengiz Khan.
11. Mongols occupied the Khwarizm empire.
12. Its ruler fled to Caspian Coast and the crown prince Jalaluddin Mangabarni asked Iltutmish to asylum.
13. But Iltutmish refused to provide shelter and saved from the wrath of Mongols.
14. The last invasion of Iltutmish was against Banian.
15. Iltutmish was died due to severe illness on 29th April 1236 A.D.
16. Iltutmish divided the empire into Iqtas. He set up Chihalgani.
17. He introduced the Silver Tanka and the Copper Jital.
18. He introduced purely Arabic coinage.
19.Iltutmish made Delhi as his capital.
20. He completed the construction of the Qutb Minar.
21. He was intolerant towards the Hindus and destroyed the Hindu temples at Bhilsa and Ujjain.
22. After the death of Iltutmish, Feroz ascended the throne. But ha had no popular support.
23. Hence Razia Sultana with the support of nobles and soldiers declared herself as Sultana.
Delhi Sultans Administration Qutb-ud-din Aibak Iltutmish
Balban Alauddin Khilji Muhammad Bin Tughluq Quiz/Online Tests

Indian History

Indus Valley Civilization Early Vedic Civilization Later Vedic Civilization Buddhism Jainism 16 Mahajanapadas Rise of Magadha Haryanka-Dynasty Sisunaga Dynasty Nandas Alexander Invasions on India Mauryan Empire Sungas Kanvas Indo-Greeks Guptas Harshavardhana Satavahanas Sangam Age Kushans-Kanishka Badami Chalukyas Kalyani Chalukyas Pallavas Cholas Rashtrakutas Muslim Invasions Rajputs Delhi Sultans Qutb-Ud-din-Aibak Iltutmish Balban Alauddin Khilji Muhammad Bin Tughluq Mughal Empire Babar Humayun Akbar Akbar Administration Jahangir Nurjahan Shah Jahan Taj Mahal Aurangzeb Sher Shah Bahmani Sultans Vijayanagara Empire Marathas Sikhs-Guru Nanak Sikhs-Ranjit Singh Hoysalas Jats Kakatiyas Kalachuris Later Pandyas Yadavas Portuguese British French Dutch Danes Anglo French Revalry First Carnatic War Second Carnatic War Third Carnatic War Battle of Plassey 1957 Battle of Buxar Expansion of British Empire First Anglo-Mysore War Second Anglo-Mysore War Third Anglo-Mysore War Fourth Anglo-Mysore War Tippu Sultan Mysore Kingdom First Anglo-Maratha War Second Anglo-Maratha War Third Anglo-Maratha War Lord Warren Hastings Lord Cornwallis Lord Wellesley Lord William Bentinck Lord Dalhousie Subsidiary Alliance-Nizam Nizam Ul Mulk Later Mughals-Bahadur Shah Oudh Kingdom Travencore Kingdom Socio-Religious Movements 1857 Revolt 1857 Revolt-Results Sambalpur Revolt Sanyasi Revolt Rippon Lord Curzon Vandemataram Movemement Reunification of Bengal Home Rule Movement Rowlatt Satyagraha Khilafat Movement Non Cooperation Movement Chauri-Chaura Incident Civil Disobedience Movement Quit India Movement Rise of Nationalism Societies-Organizations Indian National Congress Moderates Surath Congress 1907 Lucknow Pact Muslim League Pakistan Extrimists Bal Gangadhar Tilak Lala Lajapathi Roy Bipin Chandra Pal Netaji Subhas Chandrabose Mahatma Gandhi Champaran Satyagraha Ahmadabad Mill Strike Kheda Satyagraha Communal Award Gandhi Irwin Pact Swaraj Party Gadhar Party Revol. Nationalism-Maharashtra Revolutionary Nationalism-Bengal Hindusthan Socialist Republic Ass Lahore Conspiracy Case Kakori Conspiracy Case Jallian Wallah Bagh Massacre Nehru Report 1928 Minto Morley Reforms Montague Chelmsford Reforms Govt. of Indian Act 1935 Montague Declaration Constituent Assembly Elections Atlee Declaration Cabinet Mission Crips Mission Round Table Conferences Simon Commission Wavell Plan Lord Mountbatten Boundary Commission Partition of India