Indian History

Gupta Empire

       Guptas age was Golden-Age in Indian History. Srigupta was founder of the Gupta dynasty. Chandragupta I is the first prominent ruler in this dynasty. He ruled from 320-330 A.D. His queen Kumaradevi was a princess of Lichachavis. Pataliputra was the capital of Gupta empire. After Chandragupta I his son Samudragupta ascended the throne. He ruled from 300-375 A.D. He is very powerful and victorious. He invaded many kingdoms and annexed them to his empire. He defeated many rulers in noth and south India. So he was called as Indian Napolean in Indian history. He also patronised many scholars and poets. So he has the title `kaviraja`. He is very interest in music and could play veena. Allahabad piller inscription gives a detailed information about his conquests. This inscription was written by Harisena. Samudragupta was succeeded by his son ChandraguptaII vikramaditya. He ruled form 375 to 415 A.D. He fought against sakas and defeated them. He invaded Malva, Gujarat and Saurastra and defeated their rulers and annexed them to the Gupta empire.
       There are 42 inscriptions are available for Gutas period. Among them 4 inscripions belong to Samudragupta, 6 inscriptions belong to Chandragupta II, 14 inscriptions belong to Kumaragupta, 5 inscripitons belong to Skandagupta,7 belongs to Budhagupta. Samudragupta represented on is coins as playing veena. Chandragupta II was succeeded by his son Kumaragupta. He ruled for a long period of 42 years. Chandragupta II vikramaditya assumed the title `Sakari` and `Vikramaditya`. He made Ujaini in Malwa the second capital of Gupta empire. His court was adorned by Nine poets called Navratnas including Kalidas. Kalidasa wrote Abhignana sakuntalam, Kumarasambhavam, Meghadutam, Malavikagnimitram, Raghuvamsam, Ritusamhara. Chandragupta I started Gupta Era in 320 A.D. The maximum number of inscriptions of Guptas period belongs to KumaraguptaI. Kamandaka`s Nitisara ives information about Gupta empire. Kaumudi Mahotsava describes about the succession of Chandragupta I. The Buddhist pilgrim Fahien came to India during the period of Chandragupta II. Guptas patronised Sanskrit language. Many of the Astadasa Puranas were written during the Guptas period. Skandagupta repaired Sudarsana lake for the second time. First it was repaired by RudradamanI. The Gupta empire came to end by the sixth century A.D as a result of Huna invasions.

Indian History

Indus Valley Civilization Early Vedic Civilization Later Vedic Civilization Buddhism Jainism 16 Mahajanapadas Rise of Magadha Haryanka-Dynasty Sisunaga Dynasty Nandas Alexander Invasions on India Mauryan Empire Sungas Kanvas Indo-Greeks Guptas Harshavardhana Satavahanas Sangam Age Kushans-Kanishka Badami Chalukyas Kalyani Chalukyas Pallavas Cholas Rashtrakutas Muslim Invasions Rajputs Delhi Sultans Qutb-Ud-din-Aibak Iltutmish Balban Alauddin Khilji Muhammad Bin Tughluq Mughal Empire Babar Humayun Akbar Akbar Administration Jahangir Nurjahan Shah Jahan Taj Mahal Aurangzeb Sher Shah Bahmani Sultans Vijayanagara Empire Marathas Sikhs-Guru Nanak Sikhs-Ranjit Singh Hoysalas Jats Kakatiyas Kalachuris Later Pandyas Yadavas Portuguese British French Dutch Danes Anglo French Revalry First Carnatic War Second Carnatic War Third Carnatic War Battle of Plassey 1957 Battle of Buxar Expansion of British Empire First Anglo-Mysore War Second Anglo-Mysore War Third Anglo-Mysore War Fourth Anglo-Mysore War Tippu Sultan Mysore Kingdom First Anglo-Maratha War Second Anglo-Maratha War Third Anglo-Maratha War Lord Warren Hastings Lord Cornwallis Lord Wellesley Lord William Bentinck Lord Dalhousie Subsidiary Alliance-Nizam Nizam Ul Mulk Later Mughals-Bahadur Shah Oudh Kingdom Travencore Kingdom Socio-Religious Movements 1857 Revolt 1857 Revolt-Results Sambalpur Revolt Sanyasi Revolt Rippon Lord Curzon Vandemataram Movemement Reunification of Bengal Home Rule Movement Rowlatt Satyagraha Khilafat Movement Non Cooperation Movement Chauri-Chaura Incident Civil Disobedience Movement Quit India Movement Rise of Nationalism Societies-Organizations Indian National Congress Moderates Surath Congress 1907 Lucknow Pact Muslim League Pakistan Extrimists Bal Gangadhar Tilak Lala Lajapathi Roy Bipin Chandra Pal Netaji Subhas Chandrabose Mahatma Gandhi Champaran Satyagraha Ahmadabad Mill Strike Kheda Satyagraha Communal Award Gandhi Irwin Pact Swaraj Party Gadhar Party Revol. Nationalism-Maharashtra Revolutionary Nationalism-Bengal Hindusthan Socialist Republic Ass Lahore Conspiracy Case Kakori Conspiracy Case Jallian Wallah Bagh Massacre Nehru Report 1928 Minto Morley Reforms Montague Chelmsford Reforms Govt. of Indian Act 1935 Montague Declaration Constituent Assembly Elections Atlee Declaration Cabinet Mission Crips Mission Round Table Conferences Simon Commission Wavell Plan Lord Mountbatten Boundary Commission Partition of India