Indian History

Government of India Act, 1935

      Government of India Act 1935-Main Provisions
No. Government of India Act 1935
1. Government of India Act 1935 was based on Simon Commission report, Muddiman Committee Report, deliberations of three Round Table Conferences, Communal Award etc.
2. This Act was the second milestome in the introduction of responsible government in India.
3. The Government of India Act 1935 contains 14 parts and 10 Schedules.
4. The Act abolished dyarchy in provinces and autonomy was given to them.
5. Dyarcy was introduced at the Centre.
6. All India Federation with two governments i.e. Union and States. was created.
7. The Central Legislature consists Rajya Sabha and Federal Assembly.
8. Governor General was the chief administrator of the Federal Government.
9. Governor Geneal has the power to appoint or remove the council of ministers, issue of ordinances, summoning, proroguing or dissolving the Federal Assembly.
10. Native states was given freedom either to join or quit the Federation.
11. Division of powers, Federal court, written and rigid constitution were the federal features.
12. 59 items included in Central List, 54 items included in State list.
13. Governor General was authorised to make a law on residuary subjects.
14. Burma was separated from India.
15. Administrative subjects of the Union Government is divided into two Lists i.e. Reserved and Transferred.
16. Reserved List comprised Defence, External affairs, Communal issues, Tribal Welfare etc.
17. Governor General had the authority over reserved subjects with the help of three British Councillors.
18. Governor General supervises the matters of the Transferred List.
19. Federal court was constituted to settle the conflicts between the Union and the Provinces.
20. The principle of communal electorates extended to Indian Christians, Anglo-Indians, Harijans and Europeans.
21. New offices like Advocate General, Financial Adviser, Federal Railway Authority etc., were created.
Charter Acts Minto Morley Reforms Montague Chelmsfor Reforms Government of India Act 1935

Indian History

Indus Valley Civilization Early Vedic Civilization Later Vedic Civilization Buddhism Jainism 16 Mahajanapadas Rise of Magadha Haryanka-Dynasty Sisunaga Dynasty Nandas Alexander Invasions on India Mauryan Empire Sungas Kanvas Indo-Greeks Guptas Harshavardhana Satavahanas Sangam Age Kushans-Kanishka Badami Chalukyas Kalyani Chalukyas Pallavas Cholas Rashtrakutas Muslim Invasions Rajputs Delhi Sultans Qutb-Ud-din-Aibak Iltutmish Balban Alauddin Khilji Muhammad Bin Tughluq Mughal Empire Babar Humayun Akbar Akbar Administration Jahangir Nurjahan Shah Jahan Taj Mahal Aurangzeb Sher Shah Bahmani Sultans Vijayanagara Empire Marathas Sikhs-Guru Nanak Sikhs-Ranjit Singh Hoysalas Jats Kakatiyas Kalachuris Later Pandyas Yadavas Portuguese British French Dutch Danes Anglo French Revalry First Carnatic War Second Carnatic War Third Carnatic War Battle of Plassey 1957 Battle of Buxar Expansion of British Empire First Anglo-Mysore War Second Anglo-Mysore War Third Anglo-Mysore War Fourth Anglo-Mysore War Tippu Sultan Mysore Kingdom First Anglo-Maratha War Second Anglo-Maratha War Third Anglo-Maratha War Lord Warren Hastings Lord Cornwallis Lord Wellesley Lord William Bentinck Lord Dalhousie Subsidiary Alliance-Nizam Nizam Ul Mulk Later Mughals-Bahadur Shah Oudh Kingdom Travencore Kingdom Socio-Religious Movements 1857 Revolt 1857 Revolt-Results Sambalpur Revolt Sanyasi Revolt Rippon Lord Curzon Vandemataram Movemement Reunification of Bengal Home Rule Movement Rowlatt Satyagraha Khilafat Movement Non Cooperation Movement Chauri-Chaura Incident Civil Disobedience Movement Quit India Movement Rise of Nationalism Societies-Organizations Indian National Congress Moderates Surath Congress 1907 Lucknow Pact Muslim League Pakistan Extrimists Bal Gangadhar Tilak Lala Lajapathi Roy Bipin Chandra Pal Netaji Subhas Chandrabose Mahatma Gandhi Champaran Satyagraha Ahmadabad Mill Strike Kheda Satyagraha Communal Award Gandhi Irwin Pact Swaraj Party Gadhar Party Revol. Nationalism-Maharashtra Revolutionary Nationalism-Bengal Hindusthan Socialist Republic Ass Lahore Conspiracy Case Kakori Conspiracy Case Jallian Wallah Bagh Massacre Nehru Report 1928 Minto Morley Reforms Montague Chelmsford Reforms Govt. of Indian Act 1935 Montague Declaration Constituent Assembly Elections Atlee Declaration Cabinet Mission Crips Mission Round Table Conferences Simon Commission Wavell Plan Lord Mountbatten Boundary Commission Partition of India