Indian History


      Administration during the period of Akbar was effecient and based on sound principles of good government. The prominent ministers during the period of Akbar were:
1. Vakil. He was Prime Minister
2. Diwan or Wazir. He was Finance Minister
3. Mir Bakshi
4. Sadar-us-Sadar

      The empire was divided into Subas. There were 15 Subas during the Akbar period. Subas were governed by Subedar. Subas were divided into Sarkars. Sarkar was governed by Farydar. Sarkars were again divided into Parganas. Parganas were under the control of Chaudhari. Big towns were kept under the control of Kotwals.

       Akbar intorudiced Mansabdari system in military administration in 1571. Fixed salary was paid to Mansabdar. The Finance Minister Raja Todarmal introduced a new system of scientific taxation of land called Bandobust system. The land was divided into four categories such as Polaj, Parauti, Chachar and Banjar. The tenants paid his rent to the Governor without the intervention of middlemen.

      The emperor was the head of justice. Chief Quazis were appointed in the provinces. Akbar followed the policy of compromise and conciliation towards Rajputs. He had matrimonial alliances with Rajputs. He appointed Rajputs as Mansabdars. Akbar abolished Pilgrimage tax on Hindus in 1563. He abolished Jizya in 1564. Most of the Rajputs acknowledged the sovereignty of Akbar.

       Akbar constructed a new building called Ibadat-Khana at Fatepur Sikri in 1565. He invited scholors of different religions like Hindus, Jains, Parsis, Christians and Muslims for discussions. Akbar abolished the privileges enjoyed by the ulemas. Akbar was proclaimed to be the head of state and church in 1579. He established a new religion called Din-i-Ilahi in 1582. It reflects the religious tolerance of Akbar.

Mughal Empire Administration Babar Humayun
Akbar Akbar-Admin Jahangir Shajahan
Nurjahan Tajmahal Aurangzeb Later Mughals
Sher Shah Sher Shah Admin Mcqs Quiz/Online Tests

Indian History

Indus Valley Civilization Early Vedic Civilization Later Vedic Civilization Buddhism Jainism 16 Mahajanapadas Rise of Magadha Haryanka-Dynasty Sisunaga Dynasty Nandas Alexander Invasions on India Mauryan Empire Sungas Kanvas Indo-Greeks Guptas Harshavardhana Satavahanas Sangam Age Kushans-Kanishka Badami Chalukyas Kalyani Chalukyas Pallavas Cholas Rashtrakutas Muslim Invasions Rajputs Delhi Sultans Qutb-Ud-din-Aibak Iltutmish Balban Alauddin Khilji Muhammad Bin Tughluq Mughal Empire Babar Humayun Akbar Akbar Administration Jahangir Nurjahan Shah Jahan Taj Mahal Aurangzeb Sher Shah Bahmani Sultans Vijayanagara Empire Marathas Sikhs-Guru Nanak Sikhs-Ranjit Singh Hoysalas Jats Kakatiyas Kalachuris Later Pandyas Yadavas Portuguese British French Dutch Danes Anglo French Revalry First Carnatic War Second Carnatic War Third Carnatic War Battle of Plassey 1957 Battle of Buxar Expansion of British Empire First Anglo-Mysore War Second Anglo-Mysore War Third Anglo-Mysore War Fourth Anglo-Mysore War Tippu Sultan Mysore Kingdom First Anglo-Maratha War Second Anglo-Maratha War Third Anglo-Maratha War Lord Warren Hastings Lord Cornwallis Lord Wellesley Lord William Bentinck Lord Dalhousie Subsidiary Alliance-Nizam Nizam Ul Mulk Later Mughals-Bahadur Shah Oudh Kingdom Travencore Kingdom Socio-Religious Movements 1857 Revolt 1857 Revolt-Results Sambalpur Revolt Sanyasi Revolt Rippon Lord Curzon Vandemataram Movemement Reunification of Bengal Home Rule Movement Rowlatt Satyagraha Khilafat Movement Non Cooperation Movement Chauri-Chaura Incident Civil Disobedience Movement Quit India Movement Rise of Nationalism Societies-Organizations Indian National Congress Moderates Surath Congress 1907 Lucknow Pact Muslim League Pakistan Extrimists Bal Gangadhar Tilak Lala Lajapathi Roy Bipin Chandra Pal Netaji Subhas Chandrabose Mahatma Gandhi Champaran Satyagraha Ahmadabad Mill Strike Kheda Satyagraha Communal Award Gandhi Irwin Pact Swaraj Party Gadhar Party Revol. Nationalism-Maharashtra Revolutionary Nationalism-Bengal Hindusthan Socialist Republic Ass Lahore Conspiracy Case Kakori Conspiracy Case Jallian Wallah Bagh Massacre Nehru Report 1928 Minto Morley Reforms Montague Chelmsford Reforms Govt. of Indian Act 1935 Montague Declaration Constituent Assembly Elections Atlee Declaration Cabinet Mission Crips Mission Round Table Conferences Simon Commission Wavell Plan Lord Mountbatten Boundary Commission Partition of India