Indian History

Population Density

Density: To describe distribution of population the word ‘density’ is used. The total population of a area divided by its area gives density. Usually it is described as number of people living in per square kilometer area. India has large population with unequal distibution of population equal. Some areas have high density. and some areas have lowest density.
We can see many changes in the density of population in India. There is a steady increase in the density from one census to the other. In the year 1901. It was 77, it was 267 in 1991, 324 in 2001 and 382 in 2011. Bihar state has highest density of population in the country.
Based on the density of population the country is divided into 3 zones:
1.Highest density zone
2. Moderate density zone and
3.Lowest density zone.
1. Highest Density zone: These areas have more than 500 people per square km. They are: Bihar (1102), West Bengal (1029), Kerala (859), Uttar Pradesh (828), Haryana (573), Tamil Nadu (555) and Punjab (550). 2. Zone of Moderate Density of Population:
These areas have 251 to 500 people per square km. They are Assam (397), Gujarat (308), Goa (394), Maharashtra (365), Karnataka (319), Jharkhand (414), Andhra Pradesh (308), Orissa (269) and Tripura (350).
3. Zone of Low Density of Population:
These areas have less than 250 people per square km. They are Chattisgarh (189), Madhya Pradesh (236), Uttarkhand (189), Rajasthan (201), Himachal Pradesh (123), Manipur (122), Meghalaya (132), Jammu and Kashmir (124), Nagaland (119), Sikkim (86), Mizoram (52), Andaman Nicobar islands (46) and Arunachal Pradesh (17).