Indian History

Sixth Five Year Plan

The period of Sixth Five Year Plan was 1980-85. It was launched with the slogan of Garibi Hatao. In Fifth Five Year Plan 20 points programmes was started to eradicate poverty but the slogan of Garibi Hatao was not given. The main focus of sixth plan was on increase in national income, modernization of technology, ensuring continuous decrease in poverty and unemployment, population control through family planning etc.

The Sixth Five-Year Plan marked the beginning of economic liberalisation. Price controls were eliminated and ration shops were closed. This led to an increase in food prices and an increase in the cost of living. This was the end of Nehruvian socialism.

Family planning was also expanded in order to prevent overpopulation. In contrast to China's strict and binding one-child policy, Indian policy did not rely on the threat of force. More prosperous areas of India adopted family planning more rapidly than less prosperous areas, which continued to have a high birth rate.

The National Bank for Agriculture and Rural Development was established for development of rural areas on 12 July 1982 by recommendation of the Shivaraman Committee. The Sixth Five-Year Plan was a great success to the Indian economy.

Some of the major issues addressed by the Plan were—emphasis on socioeconomic infrastructure in rural areas; eliminating rural poverty and reducing regional disparities through the IRDP (1979). The target growth rate was 5.2% and the actual growth rate was 5.7%.

Number of national level programmes and schemes were launched during the plan, which tried to attend to the specific areas and the specific concerns of socio-economic development. This is the ‘target group’ approach.

    Sixth Five Year Plan-Development Programmes
    1. National Rural Employment Programme (NREP) 1980
    2. Restructured Twenty-Point Programme 1982
    3. Biogas Programme 1982
    4. Dairy Development Programme (DDP) 1983
    5. Development of Women and Children in Rural Areas (DWERA) 1983
    6. Khadi and Village Industries Programme (KVIP) 1983
    7. Intensive Pulses Development Programme (IPDP) 1983
    8. Village and Small Industries Development Programme (VSIDP) 1983
    9. Rural Landless Employment Guarantee Programme (RLEGP) 1983
    10. Special Programme for Women and Children (SPWC) 1983
    11. Village and Small Industries Development Programme (VSIDP) 1983
    12. Self-Employment to Educated Unemployed Youth Programme (SEEUP) 1983
    13. Tribal Development Agency (TDA) 1983
    14. Intensive Cotton Development Programme (ICDP) 1983
    15. Programme for Depressed Areas (PDA) 1983
    16. National Seeds Programme (NSP) 1983