Indian History

State Bank of India

State Bank of India SBI originated as the Bank of Calcutta in June 1806. In 1809, it was renamed as the Bank of Bengal. Later three banks i.e Bank of Bengal, Bank of Bombay and Bank of Madras were merged in 1921 to form the Imperial Bank of India. Imperial Bank of India was established on 27th January, 1921. Imperial Bank of India was nationalised on July 1, 1955 and named it as State Bank of India.

State Bank of India was established on July 1, 1955.
It is the biggest commercial bank in India.
SBI Associate Banks:
State Bank of Patiala (founded 1917)
State Bank of Mysore (founded 1913)
State Bank of Bikaner & Jaipur (founded 1963)
State Bank of Hyderabad (founded 1941)
State Bank of Travancore (founded 1945)
Bharatiya Mahila Bank(founded 2013)
The merger of these six subsidiaries was approved by Union Cabinet on 15 June 2016.
The banks which are merged are:
State Bank of Saurashtra (merged 2008)
State Bank of Indore (merged 2010)