Indian History

Crop Seasons

In India agriculture is carried on throughout the year. India has three cropping seasons, they are

1) Kharif or early monsoon season.

2) Robi or post monsoon

3) Jade or summer

1. Kharif crops: The crops grown during the south-west monsoon season are called kharif crops. Kharif crops are grown with the onset of monsoon in different parts of the country and these are harvested in September-October. Important crops grown during this season are paddy, maize, jowar, bajra, red gram, green gram, black gram, urad, cotton, jute, groundnut and soyabean. Maximum cropping area of the country comes under this seasons.

2. Rabi crops: It is the important cropping season in the areas receiving rain during winter months. Rabi crops are sown in October - November and are harvested during February and March. Some of the important rabi crops are wheat, barley, peas, gram and mustard. Wheat is the most important 'rabi' crop of the north-western states. Availability of precipitation during winter months due to the western temperate cyclones helps in the success of these crops.

3. Summer crops: In between the rabi and the kharif seasons, there is a short season during the summer months known as the Zaid season. Cultivation of crops between the Rabi and the Kharif seasons is called Jade farming.. Pulses like black gram, green gram, oil seeds and vegetables are grown in this season.